Bored with Bare Ladies?

March 27, 2010 at 8:29 am 3 comments

Bare lady nude life painting in acrylic

Bare Lady in acrylic

No, I find that despite several terms of life drawing and life painting I am still not bored with the bare ladies. The nude figure is endlessly fascinating. Whilst some naked bodies are more aesthetically pleasing than others (and obviously nobody really wants to see a naked man!) each body, each pose and each situation brings new challenges in shape and form, light, shade, and colour. This example is my most recent, the final project on the painting course at the Art Academy on Southwark Street. I’m sorry the term has ended as it’s been a good class with very friendly people and a brilliant teacher.

I’m not sure what class to do next really. Carry on with the life painting I guess, and maybe now that I’m more confident with paint I might go back to the City Lit. I am going there to do a video editing course in April/May but that’s a different thing altogether. Yes maybe the City Lit, because I did like the teacher there too. And come to think of it my life drawing tutor at the Central St Martin’s was great too. So what ever I do next I will aim to stick with painting bare ladies, confident in the knowledge that a nice teacher will come around and tell me if I’ve got the proportions wrong or the limbs in the wrong place.

And if it wasn’t for this blog, where could I display the bare ladies. Let’s face it, the family don’t want to eat their dinner looking at a bunch of bare lady pictures.

Entry filed under: art, figure drawing, life drawing, nude drawing, painting, Pictures. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Better or Worse? Love You

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kseverny  |  March 27, 2010 at 9:05 am

    it good that you found an area of art where you can enjoy yourself

    Reply
  • 2. eclectnik  |  March 29, 2010 at 10:52 am

    You too my friend – I just watched your rap video and look forward to the next.

    Reply
  • 3. Sara Hayward  |  March 28, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    I like the lack of detail especially, say, in the face; doesn’t detract from the form. Interesting colour palette too.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Share this blog

Facebook Twitter More...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 7,596 hits